Happiest 4th of July! Why you should love it too.

The older I get the more 4th of July becomes more special to my heart.  It is increasingly become my favorite holiday. 

Here’s why:

  1. The more I travel the world the more I appreciate the country we live in, freedom is not a basic human right for all
  2. It’s not a holiday centered around gift giving or receiving
  3. Each 4th of July it reminds me of the day I met my husband and how that day forever changed my life
  4. Fireworks are so fun and so are sparklers, poppers, and crackers and all the little ground fireworks
  5. We live in PA now and fireworks are even more fun; everyone has them and lights them off, there are displays everywhere. 
  6. My daughters enthusiasm for fireworks is so exciting to watch and experience with her
  7. I love an reason to dress up and I love all the themed food and parties

There are dozens more reasons but these are my main few.  And now that Pinterest has so many different ideas people are sharing about food, decorating, crafts, etc it’s so fun to try new things.  

This year I spent Friday through Monday doing get crafts, making 4th of July themed foods, partying, watching fireworks and dressing my family very matchy matchy.  My husband is such a good sport, he especially gets into my craziness now that my daughter matches us too.  He acts like it’s a chore but he loves it.

The older I get the more I find reasons to celebrate everything. Life is so incredibly short so why not get into the spirit?!  

I had someone tell me they “hate anything patriotic colors.”  Um what?!  I don’t get that.

What is not to love about your country and celebrating who we are as a country?  Especially now there seems to be so much turmoil in our country and rifts between police, races, Democrats and Republicans, etc. we need something that brings us together. So I say “HAPPY BIRTHDAY AMERICA!”  

4th of July is the one day we can really come together as a country and celebrate where we began and how far we have come.  We may be a young country but we are a mighty country.

Let’s celebrat, let’s be over the top, let’s wave our flags high and proud, let’s set off fireworks, sing our Star Spangler Banner, have great big barbecues, light sparklers, wear our jean shorts and flip flops, and celebrate everything that makes our country great, especially spending time with family and friends.

Unapologetically yours, 

Megan 

How did you spend your 4th of July weekend? What did you make, wear, eat?

 


Leave a comment